Tags

,

20130425_040541

Daddy with Josephine

Somehow in my grief journey I happened a crossed this blog: Large Families on Purpose and became immediately intrigued. In fact I sent the link to my husband at work that same day. The woman in this blog went on to discuss how God and the Bible feel about family planning on birth control. Very interesting, you should read it all. But I will summarize.

First how does God feel about children, its plain and simple. God uses children as (one of) the ways he rewards us. Children are a blessing, a gift.

Psalm 127:3-5

Children are a heritage from the Lord,
offspring a reward from him.
Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
are children born in one’s youth.
Blessed is the man
whose quiver is full of them.
They will not be put to shame
when they contend with their opponents in court.

Second, never once are children described as a burden, an accident, a mistake as they often are here in our broken world. In fact they are always described as the opposite.

In Matthew 19:14 “Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”” Jesus wasn’t burdened by children even in his busy short ministry. He knew their value.

Psalm 139 says each child is fearfully and wonderfully made. Not accidentally made.

Third, God is the author of all life. God chose to create every child that has even been. On purpose, with a purpose:

Genesis 1:27 “So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” Each of us and each of our children are created to reflect God.

Isaiah 43:7 “everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.”

Fourth, Christians and birth control, I want you to research this on your own. But let me tell you this. Once I new the facts…I repented of my sins, ask God to forgive me for what I did not know and threw away all my pills. You may want to continue to live with not knowing these things but if you want to know look at these links: Birth Control and May Cause Abortions. This is for you and God to talk about. You don’t have to agree with me but instead of taking time to be critical, take time to research and pray.

Fifth, God knows whats best for us. You know that’s true. As Christians we are told over and over that God’s plans are greaert than ours. In Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

God will prosper you and not harm you. Romans 8:28 says it again “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” So why do we refuse to let him control how many blessings he gives us? If God was going to hand you 6 bags of money would you tell him “No – I only want 3, thanks” But if he was going to give you 6 kids you  might respond that way! Aren’t children more of a blessing than money? God says to trust him with the details, Matthew 6:25-27 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

We have therefore chosen to allow God to have control of our family planning. Yes that means no birth control of ANY form. We want to be blessed beyond our wildest dreams. We want to have open hearts and open hands to anything God entrusts us will. We want our faith to be a testimony. We want our lives to shout as a witness to God’s glory. That may mean we have the the three beautiful daughters we have now and no more. But we hope and pray that God will bless us with more of our own children and with foster and adoptive children as well.

I am in no position to say what is right for anyone else. God has a plan for each of our families, and each plan will look different. And each conviction is different. But if you are at all interested in this idea I encourage you to read A Full Quiver and look up any and all scripture on child bearing. Start to pray that God will show you the plan for you and your family…whatever it may be. Then have faith. God is Good.

